Share |
Back to Vizag Sports News

VPT takes third place in hockey tourney:

The All-India Major Ports Hockey Championship ended on an exciting note at the port stadium here on Wednesday with host Visakhapatnam Port Trust fighting till the last minute to clinch a victory over last year’s winner Kolkata or at least draw the match.

However, the host was unfortunate to lose 1-2 and take the third place. It finished in the same position last time. Kolkota was the winner and VO Chidambarnar, Tuticorin was runner-up. S. Ramakrishna of Visakhapatnam was adjudged the best goalkeeper of the tournament.

Visakhapatnam made the final in the football championship, edging out Paradip in the sudden death after the penalties in the tie-breaker failed to break the stalemate. Paradip had earlier pushed last year’s winner Kolkota to the second place in the league phase but the host played well in the semi-finals to contain Paradip and make the final. It takes on Cochin in the final on Thursday.

Chairman in-charge of Visakhapatnam Port Trust R.P.S. Kahlon gave away the trophies and individual special prizes. VPT Chief Vigilance Officer Mujib Pasha Shaik, honorary secretary of Hockey Andhra Pradesh M. Niranjan Reddy, executive president of Hockey Visakhapatnam District S.K.E. Appa Rao, Deputy CVO of VPT S.V.S. Sudhakar, Deputy CME and working president of VPSC P.V.V.P. Harihara Rao, Sports Officer and secretary of VPSC M.V. Manikyalu, Sports Officer Ch. Benerjee Babu participated.

Read More On: | all-india | major | ports | hockey | championship | hockey |
Post Your Comments

By posting your comments you agree to abide to the terms and conditions of